Interview with Breakout Rockers I The Mighty

One listen to San Francisco Bay area-based pop punkers I The Mighty and you’ll be humming their songs for the rest of the day.  The saccharine sweet, smooth flowing melodies and addictive beats of the band are hooking fans and receiving recognition from the right entities, such as magazines and radio stations.  I The Mighty- Brent Walsh (vocals/guitar), Ian Pedigo (guitar), Chris Hinkley (bass/vocals), and Blake Dahlinger (drums)- are preparing for big things to come their way.  Sovereign Sound tracked down Walsh who opened up about writing music, heeding advice, and how to deal with the hype.

Sovereign Sound (SS): Explain the I The Mighty song-writing process.

Brent Walsh (BW): The song-writing process usually starts with me sitting in my room writing some music and then adding the vocal part.  Sometimes the vocals come first if I write a poem or something and make a melody for it, then write the music to accompany it.  I bring the song to the boys in our practice studio or sometimes make a demo of the song at home and burn it for the boys.  Then everyone adds their special flare and input and we jam on it until it feels right.

SS: How old were you when you started writing music?

BW: Ian and I started the band with some high school buddies the summer between 9th and 10th grade.  I was just singing at the time and hadn’t picked up a guitar yet.  Our drummer was writing songs…and it just felt weird to be singing words and feelings that they were not my own.  Eventually I had to pick up a guitar and start writing myself, sometime in sophomore year.

SS: What’s the strangest thing that’s ever inspired a song?

BW: Strangest thing to inspire a song….maybe not the strangest but definitely one of the strongest waves of inspiration I ever had was when an ex-girlfriend of mine found out I kissed somebody else (after we broke up mind you) and made it a point to let herself into the house I was living in at the time and have a full on mental breakdown ALL over me.  There was a lot of yelling involved….it was weird.  After I kicked her out I immediately sat down at my friends piano and wrote “Technicolor” and felt so much better.  I think that was the most organic form of inspiration into song writing and song writing as a tool of therapy.

SS: You’ve opened for some veteran bands like Hawthorne Heights and Valencia- what’s the best advice that a band has given you?

BW: I’m not sure a veteran band has ever really given us too much advice…but from talking to people who have been in the business for a while, tried and true veterans if you will, the best advice I think we ever got was: work your ass off.  Don’t expect things to be done for you, and don’t write or play anything other than what you truly want to be writing or playing.

SS: What’s one thing you can’t do without on the road?

BW: One thing I couldn’t do without on the road….probably decent food.  It’s so easy to eat extremely unhealthy.  You gotta find out how to eat well while still being thrifty as hell.

SS: You’ve been on the receiving end of some good hype from reputable publications such as AP Magazine, AMP Magazine, and AbsolutePunk.net- how do you react to that?

BW: It’s pretty sweet to see your picture in AP magazine.  It makes you feel like your career is becoming real.  That being said, I don’t think any of us are going to be satisfied until we’re on the cover.

SS: If you could have anyone in the world be I The Mighty’s #1 fan, who would it be?

BW: One person to be a fan of I the Mighty….Claudio Sanchez of Coheed and Cambria, only because he has no idea what an influence he has had on me over my beginning years of song-writing.  My dream is to share the stage with them-HOW DOPE WOULD THAT BE?!

Leave a Reply

